top of page



"What's in a name?" you ask? A Lot! While becoming certified is not always a requirement to gain employment in the coding industry, it certainly gives you an advantage in this very competitive field. A certification from an accredited organization will not only verify your knowledge and skills, but it will also sharpen them and help to keep them current. And, in an ever-changing-industry, that is a must! Two of the nationally known accreditation organizations for medical billing and coding include The American Academy of Professional Coders  (AAPC) and the Commission of Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIM), the latter of which accredits general programs, including The American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA). Memberships in these organizations also has many perks, including training, networking, job opportunities, etc. Below is a list of certifications offered by AAPC and AHIMA. 


The American Association of Professioanl Coders

The AAPC was founded in 1988 and its stated goal is "to provide education and professional certification to physician-based medical coders and to elevate the standards of medical coding by providing training, certification, networking, and job opportunities. " 

AAPC offers a variety of certifications, including many specialty certifications: 

  • CNPC (Certified Anesthesia and Pain Management Coder)

  • CASCC (Certified Ambulatory Surgical Center Coder)

  • CCC (Certified Cardiology Coder)

  • CDEO (Certified Documentation Expert- Outpatient)

  • CEDC (Certified Emergency Department Coder)

  • CEMC (Certified Evaluation and Management Coder)

  • CFPC (Certified Family Practice Coder)

  • CGIC (Certified Gastroenterology Coder)

  • CGSC (Certified General Surgery Coder)

  • CHONC (Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder

  • CIC (Certified Inpatient Coder)

  •  CIRCC (Certified Interventional Radiology and Cardiovascular Coder)

  • COBGC (Certified Obstetrics Gynecology Coder)

  • COC (Certified Outpatient Coder)

  • COPC (Certified Ophthalmology Coder)

  • COSC (Certified Orthopaedic Surgery Coder)

  • CPB (Certified Professional Biller)

  • CPC (Certified Professional Coder)

  • CPCD (Certified Professional Coder in Dermatology)

  • CPCO (Certified Professional Compliance Officer)

  • CPEDC (Certified Professional Pediatrics)

  • CPMA (Certified Professional Medical Assistant)

  • CPPM (Certified Physician Practice Manager)

  • CRC (Certified Risk Adjustment Coder)

  • CRHC (Certified Rheumatology Coder)

  • CUC (Certified Urology Coder)

  • CVTC (Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery)

For more information, click below to be redirected to AHIMA's official website. 


The American Health Information Management Association

AHIMA was founded in 1928 to improve the quality of health records. This organization began as the American College of Surgeons established the Association of Record Librarians of North America (ARLNA) to "elevate the standards of clinical records in hospitals and other medical institutions." 

AHIMA offers the following coding certifications: 

  • CCA (Certified Coding Associate)  

  • CCS (Certified Coding Specialist) 

  • CCS-P (Certified Coding Specialist- Physician-Based 

AHIMA also offers other HIM and specialty certifications, as well a platform for education, training, and networking, with up-dates on the latest current coding news. 

For more information, click below to be redirected to AHIMA's official website. 

bottom of page